ThyssenKrupp Electrical Steel Dissertation Prize 2009 of the Magnetism Work Group

The Magnetism*) Work Group, which the DPG Division on Magnetism is part of, is inviting entries for a Dissertation Prize, which will be awarded at the DPG's Spring Conference in Dresden in March 2009. The intention of the prize is to honour outstanding research within the context of a dissertation, and excellent verbal and written presentation of the results.

Outstanding scientific dissertations from the specialist area of magnetism in theory, principles and/or applications which were completed at a German university in 2007 or 2008 may be nominated. Nominations may only be submitted by the tutor responsible for the dissertation, with the exception of members of the prize committee.

Selection procedure: A prize committee appointed by the Magnetism Work Group will draw up a short list of up to four final candidates from all entries; these finalists will then give a lecture (20 + 5 minutes) about their work at the association's internal symposium "Magnetism Prize" during the DPG's Spring Conference 2009 in Dresden. The prize committee will choose the winner directly after the symposium and announce the result at the conference.

The prize is worth 1000 euros in prize money.

The complete nomination includes:

Please send the documents in one single pdf file to the Chairman of the Magnetism Work Group, Prof. Dr. Eberhard Wassermann () by January 31, 2009, with the reference "ThyssenKrupp Prize".

*) The Magnetism Work Group (German abbreviation AGM) is a joint committee of the DPG, the Condensed Matter Section (AKF), the Division on Magnetism (MA), the German Society of Material Science (DGM), the VDE Scientific Association of Electrical Engineering, Electronic Information Technology Association, Energy-Technology Society (ETG in the VDE) and the German Association of Iron and Steel Research (VDEh)

back to the normal view